Live Score

Live score composed and performed for Hollis Frampton's 'Palindrome' (1969)

Watch Performance Video


Suspended Bowls + Motor-Array Instrument

A motor-array instrument crafted of bowls, bells, balls, beads and (b)clothespins. A vibration motor is attached to each suspended bowl and controlled from an arduino-based interface.

Bell Controller

Motor-Control Instrument

A motor control interface for 15 vibration motors and LEDs attached to jingle bells. Used for installations and live performance. Featured in Experimental Music Yearbook 2016.

Lil' Jürg Frey

Experimental music ensemble in Animal Crossing New Horizons

Lil' Jürg Frey is Dicky Bahto, Erika Bell, Morgan Gerstmar, Stephanie Smith

Watch Our Debut


Interactive Performance / Installation

Performance/installation originally created in conjunction with Anja Weiser Flower’s work “Cosm, Organization-Construction, Second Instance.” Revised October 2018

Watch Performance Video

Stellar Remnants / Pulsing

Performance Interface + Interactive Sound Sculpture

Collaboration with Ellen Reid, consisting of a piece for solo cello with performance interface (Stellar Remnants) paired with a sound installation (Pulsing). World Premiere performed by esteemed cellist Johannes Moser on February 11, 2017 as part of the Laguna Beach Music Festival.

Stephie's Castle

Solo Performance and Improvisation

Performance alias under which I improvise with a combination of violin, voice, laptop, and synthesizer.


Networked Music Ensemble

Bitpanic, is a networked computer music ensemble located in Los Angeles comprised of composers Casey Anderson, Scott Cazan, Clay Chaplin, David Paha, and Stephanie Smith


09-26-2020  -  The wulf. presents Lil' Jürg Frey, Liam Mooney, Isaac Schankler , 6pm Pacific / 8pm Central ,

09-01-2020  -  Press: b-z-bowls in The Wire

08-01-2020  -  Press: Lil' Jürg Frey in The Wire

07-18-2020  -  Casa Berenice Live Streamed, Virtual House Concert , 7pm Pacific ,

07-13-2020  -  UCSD Visiting Artist: Lil' Jürg Frey

07-11-2020  -  Indexical Livestream: Stephanie Cheng Smith + Liam Mooney + Sarah Hennies , 5pm Pacific ,

05-13-2020  -  Lumpen Radio on ESS , 6pm Pacific / 8pm Central ,

05-02-2020  -  Lumpen Radio - Common Field Official After Party , 6pm Pacific / 8pm Central ,

04-15-2020  -  Visiting Artist: Women in Electronic Music , CalArts

02-26-2020  -  Open Source: Clay Chaplin, BitPanic, and Corazon de Robota , 8pm , Coaxial

02-24-2020  -  Research + Practice Visiting Artist: Sonic Instrument Building Lecture , CalArts